9/11 Through the Eyes of a 3rd Grader

I remember sitting in my 3rd grade classroom that day
an 8th grader came in and told all of us to look out the window
and there off in the distance I could see the black smoke rising high.
I didn’t know what it meant…but I remember it.

I remember the buses coming early that day
we all went home and I was excited for this unexpected half-day
my older siblings didn’t seem as thrilled as I.
I didn’t know what it meant…but I remember it.

I remember coming home to the TV on that day
my mom beckoned us over and she pulled us into her arms
she watched the TV and I watched her cry.
I didn’t know what it meant…but I remember it.

I remember the days that followed that day
I attended my first funeral, it was for my friend’s father
and I saw so many people gathered to say their final goodbye.
I didn’t know what it meant…but I remember it.

I remember, 15 years later, that day
how much it affected our country and affected me
lives were lost and heroes were born when all had gone awry.
I now know what it meant…and I will never forget.

 

 

Copyright©2016 Hannah Quense

 

One thought on “9/11 Through the Eyes of a 3rd Grader

Leave a Reply

