Illumination

Lying in the dark a rectangular beam of light illuminates my face
As I stare at it it seems to suck the very life from my eyes

They grow weary

Lulled by the light into the tired state that the rest of my body has already embraced
Luring me to the brink of mindlessness by distractions
As if to say, “rest for the body, not for the mind”

Disallowing an original thought to form

Because if I could think a thought in the seconds between the beam dissipating and my consciousness disappearing
It’d be spent wondering if any illumination happened

And it’d come up with nothing.

 

 

 

 

Copyright©2016 Hannah Quense

 

Leave a Reply

