Your Own Worst Enemy


 

How many times have I said I’m going to do this,
only to never follow through because of my laziness
how many times have I said I’m going to get up and go,
only to then respond, “Not now, I will tomorrow though”
How many times have I promised myself that I was going to improve
Only to stay stuck on the couch and never make a move

How many times have I made things worse,
simply by letting my actions be perverse
How many times have I gotten in my own way,
by never letting my actions live up to the words that I say

How many times have I said the word “I”,
consulting the one person who always turns a blind eye

When was the last time I sought help apart from me?
Probably the last time I felt free

 

 

©2016 Hannah Quense

Leave a Reply

