Poem

From the Archives #2

After reading in one of my high school English classes poem after poem named “Poem”, I came to the conclusion that in order to be like the great poets I needed to follow suit by also writing a poem entitled “Poem”. The result of that conclusion, is the poem below.


As many others who came before me,
I shall write a poem entitled as such.
With ink flowing steady from the pen,
my whole self shall become enveloped
by the poem entitled as such.
As the words, the thoughts, the feelings
emanate from me,
I shall translate the songs of my soul
into a poem entitled as such.
For that is truly what a poem is,
no matter the title nor the others that preceded it;
a poem is a reflection of the artist’s musings,
and sometimes
the poem is entitled as such.

 

©2009 Hannah Quense

Leave a Reply

